Manja slova Veća slova RSS

US-Adriatic Charter (A5)

The US-Adriatic Charter has been confirmed as an important forum and instrument for strengthening regional cooperation concerning the Euro-Atlantic path of the SEE region. The US-Adriatic Charter was established by the Republic of Albania, the Republic of Croatia, the Republic of Macedonia and the United States, with the aim to help aspirant countries join NATO. On December 4th 2008 in Helsinki (in the margins of the OSCE Ministerial Meeting), the Charter expanded its activities and, with the accession of two new members, Montenegro and Bosnia and Herzegovina, changed its name from A3 to A5, the name denoting the number of member - states. In this way, the idea of regional integration has been strengthened and the possibility of including other countries of the Western Balkans in the work of A5 has been opened. Observer countries in A5 are Serbia and Kosovo, while Slovenia, though not a formal observer regularly participates in A5 meetings.