Manja slova Veća slova RSS

NATO - facts sheet


NATO - North Atlantic Treaty Organisation

North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO), fr: L’Organisation du Traité de l’Atlantique Nord (OTAN) is the largest international military-political organization in the world, established on April 4, 1949 in Washington. The political dimension of NATO is reflected in the promotion of democratic values, consultations and cooperation of member states on military-defense issues in order to build confidence and prevent conflicts, while NATO's military component is based on commitment to peaceful resolution of disputes. If diplomatic efforts fail, NATO has the military power to undertake operations to deal with crisis situations. They are carried out under the collective defense clause of the Founding treaty of NATO - Article 5 of the Washington Treaty, or under the mandate of the United Nations, independently or in cooperation with other countries and international organizations.

The official languages of NATO are English and French.

Founding countries (1949)

- Belgium - Iceland - Norway
- Canada - Italy -Portugal
- Denmark - Luxembourg - United Kingdom
- France - Holland - USA

Countries that acceded to NATO-u during the Cold War

- Greece (1952.)
- Turkey (1952.)
- West Germany (1955.)
- Spain (1982.)

Countries that acceded to NATO after the Cold War

- Czech Republic (1999.) - Estonia (2004.) - Slovenia (2004.)
- Poland (1999.) - Latvia (2004.) - Slovakia (2004.)
- Hungary (1999.) - Lithuania (2004.) - Albania (2009.)
- Bulgaria (2004.) - Romania (2004.) - Croatia (2009.) - Montenegro (2017.)

The central NATO Headquarter is situated in Brussels (Belgium). Apart from 29 member states, 22 states are participating in NATO Partnership for Peace, with other 15 countries included in programmes of institutional dialogs. Combined military expenses of all NATO members make approximately 70% of all expenses of defence in the world.

NATO HQ Boulevard Leopold III B- 1110 Brussels Belgium